Charged with a DUI this Labor Day? Here’s What to Know

Summer holidays such as Labor Day mark a heightened risk of drunk driving incidents. If you have been charged with a DUI over the long holiday weekend, you may be wondering about the consequences that come with charges such as this. New Jersey does not take DUI consequences lightly as an attempt to crackdown on drunk driving incidents. Continue reading to discover the different penalties that you may face when facing first, second and third-offense DUI charges.

If you require the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney, look no further than the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro.

First-Offense DUI Consequences

It is important to understand that first-offense DUIs are not taken lightly in New Jersey. As someone who has been charged with a DUI for the first time, you may face the following consequences:

  • Up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • Face up to 30 days of incarceration
  • Potential loss of your license for up to 30 days
  • Install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 3 to 6 months
  • You will most likely have to pay a $500 fine

Second-Offense DUI Consequences

Receiving a second-offense DUI in New Jersey may result in the following consequences:

  • 90 days of incarceration
  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device for up to two years
  • Up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC
  • A 2-year license suspension
  • A $1,000 fine
  • A $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund

Third-Offense DUI Consequences

The third-offense DUI consequences in New Jersey are as follows and may often include jail sentences for individuals who do not retain the services of an experienced criminal attorney:

  • A $1,000 fine
  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • A 2-year license suspension
  • Up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund

If you have been charged with a first, second, or third offense DUI this past Labor Day, it is important that you reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney who will fight these charges on your behalf. Reach out to our knowledgeable and skilled criminal defense attorney. We will walk you through the legal process ahead. Reach out to our firm today if you have any questions regarding your charges and how we can assist you in court.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.