What are the penalties of a first offense DWI?

Driving under the influence of alcohol is taken very seriously in New Jersey. Those who do and are charged with a DWI may face serious penalties. In New Jersey, a DWI is not a crime, it is technically considered an offense. However, this does not mean that the consequences are less serious. If you have been charged with a first offense DWI, you may be facing a number of different consequences. These can include the following:

  • Driver’s license suspension for 3 months
  • Incarceration for up to 30 days
  • A $1,000 surcharge annually for 3 years
  • Hundreds of dollars in fines
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • Participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and the associated fees

An important factor to note is that if you are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol and you have a blood alcohol content of more than 0.10 percent, you may be charged with a High BAC. The consequences for a High BAC offense are more serious. Some of these include:

  • Jail for up to 30 days
  • License suspension for 7-12 months
  • $300-$500 in fines
  • Participation in the IDRC and obligations to pay associated fees
  • $100 fees to both the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee and the Drunk Driving fee

If you have been charged with a DWI, contact our firm today for strong legal representation.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation. 

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.