Assault is a criminal offense that is not taken lightly in the state of New Jersey. If you are accused of this violent crime, you can be looking at severe penalties, as extreme as a permanent criminal record. This has a negative, long-term effect that may inhibit future career opportunities, property gains, and, in some cases, your immigrant status. Find out what penalties are associated with assault charges and how a skilled Middlesex County violent crime attorney can aid you in defending your case.
What are the penalties for a simple assault charge in New Jersey?
According to the state of New Jersey, a simple assault is any assault that inflicts or otherwise attempts to inflict bodily injury to another person. It is considered a disorderly persons offense, or otherwise a misdemeanor, and thus punishable by up to 6 months in jail and/or fines of up to $1,000. There is even a possibility that you may also lose your right to own or possess a firearm or other weapon.
What are the possible defenses for a simple assault charge?
A common defense for a simple assault charge is that of self-defense. New Jersey’s Self-Defense Law allows the use of force any time a person believes, within reason, that they are in immediate danger and must protect themselves from a person who is using illegal force against them. Also, you can use an alibi if you can prove that you were somewhere else at the time of the offense.
If either of these defenses is applicable to you, do not hesitate to reach out to one of the seasoned Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys today to help reduce or dismiss your charges altogether.
What are the penalties for an aggravated assault charge?
A simple assault can be upgraded to an aggravated assault if you possessed a weapon during the act that inflicted or otherwise attempted to inflict a non-serious bodily injury. It is categorized as an indictable crime, or otherwise a felony. The charges come at many degrees that are contingent on the circumstances of each case. Nonetheless, aggravated assault is punishable by up to 10 years of imprisonment and/or fines of up to $150,000.
What is the No Early Release Act?
The No Early Release Act is subject to you if you are convicted of a violent crime such as assault. So, you will be required under this law to serve at least 85 percent of your sentence before you are eligible to request parole.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.