Can I Go to Jail for a Reckless Driving Offense?

Reckless driving is one of the most common causes of car accidents in the state of New Jersey, which is why the penalties are severe. If you are caught driving irresponsibly in New Jersey, you may not only be facing a reckless driving ticket but also countless fines, license suspension, and possibly even jail time. In this situation, you must understand your rights to effectively avoid such consequences. Continue reading to learn how one of the experienced Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro can help you navigate your case and your legal options going forward.

Will I go to jail over a reckless driving ticket in the state of New Jersey?

You can be charged with reckless driving if you are caught driving over 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, damaging property with your vehicle, or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

This ticket has several consequences tied to it, and the ones your receive will depend on the circumstances of your incident. That said, for your first-time offense, you may be facing up to 60 days in prison. In addition, other penalties you may face include the following:

  • A $200 fine.
  • 5 points on your driving record.
  • A suspension of your driver’s license.

Importantly, points on your license can lead to your insurance premiums increasing and the potential to lose your license.

Inevitably, the consequences may be more severe if it is your second-time offense. That is, the time you may spend in jail may increase to up to 90 days. Other consequences include the following:

  • A $500 fine.
  • A suspension of your driver’s license.

What is a combination offense with a reckless driving ticket?

You may be charged with a combination offense if you are caught committing more than one crime at a time. For example, a combination offense is applicable if you are driving 30 miles per hour over the speed limit while also being under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In this case, you will receive a reckless driving ticket and also a DWI.

With all that being said, it is essential that you retain the services of a skilled Middlesex County criminal defense attorney as soon as you possibly can. Our team will work on your behalf to explore all possible lines of defense to reduce or altogether eliminate the consequences placed against you. To protect your future and avoid having these penalties follow you for years to come, call today to discuss what your next steps should be.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What Happens if I Receive a DWI in Another State?

If you were arrested for a DWI outside of New Jersey state lines, the legal process can get quite confusing. Regardless, the…

Read More
What are the Penalties for Public Intoxication in New Jersey?

Public intoxication is frowned upon in the state of New Jersey, as it may lead you to engage in prohibited conduct that…

Read More
What if I Received a DWI this Labor Day Weekend?

Labor Day weekend is usually commemorated with barbeques or otherwise large gatherings with alcohol likely present. With this, this is a weekend…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.