Charged With a DUI this 4th of July in NJ? Here is What You Should Know

If you have been charged with a DUI this 4th of July, it is important to consider the consequences that come with such charges. Continue reading to discover the different penalties that you may face regarding first, second, and third-offense DUI charges.

If you require the assistance of a criminal defense attorney, do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced firm who will walk you through the legal process ahead. Give our firm a call today to discuss your options and to learn more about our services. We are here to help. Schedule your initial consultation with us today.

First-Offense DUI Consequences

First-offense DUIs are not taken lightly in the state of New Jersey. You may face any of the following penalties for a first-offense DUI:

  • Up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • Face up to 30 days of incarceration
  • Potential loss of your license for up to 30 days
  • Install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 3 to 6 months
  • You will most likely have to pay a $500 fine

Second-Offense DUI Consequences

You may face the following consequences for receiving a second-offense DUI in New Jersey:

  • 90 days of incarceration
  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device for up to two years
  • Up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC
  • A 2-year license suspension
  • A $1,000 fine
  • A $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund

Third-Offense DUI Consequences

It is common for individuals facing third-offense DUIs to be sentenced to jail, especially those that do not acquire the assistance of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney. The third-offense DUI consequences in New Jersey are as follows:

  • A $1,000 fine
  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • A 2-year license suspension
  • Up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund

If you are facing any of the above charges, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who will fight for your rights in court. To begin this process, reach out to our knowledgeable criminal defense law firm so that we can walk you through the legal process ahead. Do not hesitate to reach out to our firm with any questions you have regarding DUI charges in New Jersey.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.