What Do I Need to Know About Ignition Interlock Devices?

If you have been convicted of a DWI, it is important to understand the details of the consequences that may come from your charges. One of the penalties for a DWI in New Jersey may include the installation of an ignition interlock device. If the driver’s blood alcohol content is over .15% at the time of their DWI, they may be required to install this device in every vehicle that they own. To learn more about what an ignition interlock device is and the important criteria New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission requires each device to meet, continue reading.

If you have any further questions regarding this device, reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney to learn how we can fight for your rights in court. We understand how DWI charges may follow you for years to come. Give our firm a call today to learn what we can do for you.

What is an ignition interlock device?

Being convicted of a DWI comes with severe consequences in New Jersey. One of the potential penalties for being caught driving under the influence is having an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. This device is used in an effort to keep drunk drivers off the roads of New Jersey. The court will determine a few factors when deciding if you will receive an ignition interlock device including your BAC at the time of your incident, who was in your vehicle, and if you have any previous charges.

An ignition interlock device requires the driver to take a breathalyzer test to start their car. If the driver’s BAC is .05% or higher, the car will not start. The individual will be required to pay for the installation of the devices as well as any other expenses associated with the device. The device will be installed in any vehicle this person owns or may operate.

What should I know about an ignition interlock device?

It is important to understand the following criteria that the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission requires the ignition interlock device meet:

  • The device must be serviced every 67 days
  • The device must be able to detect a blood alcohol content of 0.05 percent
  • The device must be installed at a service center designated by the Motor Vehicle Commission
  • The device requires a label warning of civil liability or prosecution for anyone who tampers with the device

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.