Labor Day weekend is usually commemorated with barbeques or otherwise large gatherings with alcohol likely present. With this, this is a weekend marked with a heightened risk of drunk driving incidents. So, law enforcement officers in the state of New Jersey are particularly strict with DWI convictions during this time. Read on to learn the potential penalties you may be facing after being charged with a DWI this holiday weekend and how a seasoned Middlesex County DWI attorney at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro can come to your defense.
What happens if I received a first-offense DWI this Labor Day weekend?
Like any other day, you will be facing the following consequences if you were pulled over and convicted of a first-offense DWI this Labor Day weekend:
- You may go to jail for up to 30 days.
- You may have to pay a fine anywhere between $250 to $400.
- You may have to install the ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle for anywhere between three to six months, and at your own cost.
- You may lose your license for 30 days or until you install the IID.
- You may have to spend anywhere between 12 to 48 hours at the New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
Will I be arrested with a BAC over .10% this Labor Day weekend?
More seriously, if it was determined that your blood alcohol content (BAC) was between .10% and .15% when you were driving, you likely received a high BAC DWI. Evidently, this comes with more severe penalties, which include the following:
- You may go to jail for 30 days.
- You may have to pay a fine anywhere between $300 to $500.
- You may have to install the IID for anywhere between seven months to one year, and at your own cost.
- You may lose your license for up to 45 days or until you install the IID.
- You may have to spend anywhere between 12 to 48 hours in the IDRC.
Will I be arrested if I get a DWI under the age of 21 this Labor Day weekend?
And lastly, if you are under the age of 21 and you were caught operating a vehicle, even at a BAC of .01%, then you will face severe penalties. They read as follows:
- You may have to pay fines.
- You may lose your license for anywhere between 30 to 90 days.
- You may have to spend mandatory time in the IDRC.
- You may have to do community service for anywhere between 15 to 30 days.
With all this being said, if you are facing DWI charges after this Labor Day weekend, it is important that you retain the services of one of the competent Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys as soon as possible.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.