The world of technology is constantly evolving. Nowadays, due to certain technological advancements, vehicles are equipped with hands-free technology that allows a motorist to use their phone while operating a vehicle without having to look at their phone. Using your cell phone while you are behind the wheel is not only extremely dangerous but is illegal. In the state of New Jersey, traffic violations such as speeding, reckless driving, driving while your license is under suspension, and cell phone violations carry harsh penalties. If you violate New Jersey’s cell phone laws you will be faced with significant consequences. If you have been issued a ticket for a cell phone violation, contact a trusted Middlesex County Traffic Ticket Attorney who can help you defend your rights. In addition, please continue reading to learn about the potential penalties
What happens if I’m caught texting while driving in New Jersey?
The penalties for a cell phone violation depend on whether this is your first violation. In New Jersey, if this is your first-offense cell phone violation, you will face fines between $200 and $400. If this is your second offense within 10 years of your first violation, you will be looking at fines between $400 and $600. If this is your third or subsequent offense within 10 years, you will be faced with fines between $600 and $800, a potential 90-day license suspension, and 3 points added to your driving record. Despite not seeming as severe as other penalties, these penalties can have long-term negative effects on your life. For instance, if you accumulate points on your driving record your auto insurance premiums will drastically increase. In addition, if your license is suspended you won’t be able to pick up your children from school or travel to work. Losing your driving privileges can hinder your ability to earn a living as well as provide for your family. It is imperative to retain the legal services of an experienced Middlesex County traffic ticket attorney who can help defend your interests to prevent these serious penalties.
Are there any exceptions to New Jersey’s cell phone laws?
Although using a hand-held device is illegal in most cases, some exceptions permit the use of a cell phone while behind the wheel. The only exceptions to New Jersey’s cell phone laws are if you have reason to believe your life is in danger. Additionally, you can use your hand-held device if you need to notify authorities of a medical emergency, auto collision, reckless driver, or road hazard. These are the only valid exceptions to New Jersey’s cell phone laws.
In the unfortunate event that you or a loved one has been issued a cell phone violation for texting while driving, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with one of our determined and adept attorneys. Allow our firm to represent your interests in court as our legal team is committed to defending our clients’ rights.