Robbery and Burglary, What’s the Difference?

Robbery and burglary are two entirely different terms. However, they are often interchanged mistakenly. In New Jersey, these two terms have different definitions and penalties under the law. To learn more about the difference between robbery and burglary, continue reading and contact our experienced Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro.

How is a robbery defined?

Robbery is defined as committing the act of theft involving the use of force, violence, or the threat of force or violence. Robbery is often considered a second-degree felony in New Jersey. For example, if a perpetrator instills fear by threatening violence in order to forcibly steal the victim’s property, this would be considered robbery in New Jersey.

What are the penalties for committing a robbery in New Jersey?

Individuals charged with robbery will serve 85% of their sentence before gaining eligibility for parole under the No Early Release Act of New Jersey.

The following are the penalties in New Jersey for being charged with robbery:

  • Robbery in the Second Degree: Up to 10 years in prison and a $150,000 fine.
  • Robbery in the First Degree: Up to 20 years in prison and high fines.

How is a burglary defined?

Burglary is defined as entry into a building with the intent to commit a crime. Burglary is also defined as remaining on a property with the intent to commit a crime. It is possible to commit burglary without breaking and entering. Burglary can be defined as remaining unlawfully inside of a building with the intent to commit a crime. Theft does not have to take place in order for a crime to be considered burglary. Other intentional crimes include sex crimes or assaults.

What are the penalties for committing a burglary in New Jersey?

If you are convicted of burglary in New Jersey, you will face a third-degree felony. You may also face up to $10,000 in fines and up to five years in prison. Fines can be seen up to $150,000 for aggravated burglary charges. For aggravated burglary charges, individuals may face up to 10 years in prison.

If you are facing robbery or burglary charges in the state of New Jersey, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. To learn more about our firm and how we can assist you, do not hesitate to contact our legal team today.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What Happens if I Receive a DWI in Another State?

If you were arrested for a DWI outside of New Jersey state lines, the legal process can get quite confusing. Regardless, the…

Read More
What are the Penalties for Public Intoxication in New Jersey?

Public intoxication is frowned upon in the state of New Jersey, as it may lead you to engage in prohibited conduct that…

Read More
What if I Received a DWI this Labor Day Weekend?

Labor Day weekend is usually commemorated with barbeques or otherwise large gatherings with alcohol likely present. With this, this is a weekend…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.